9.8 C
New York

Golfer removed from U.S. Amateur soon after caddie can make unbelievable error on 18th gap

Must read

Uk bans set up of new Huawei 5G gear from September

The Uk governing administration is banning the set up of new Huawei 5G gear from September 2021 as component of its programs...

Sara Molina Slams Tekashi 6ix9ine On Social Media For Becoming A Horrible Father To Their Daughter—“All You Do Is Cap About Our Daughter”

Roommates, the connection among Tekashi 6ix9ine’s ex-girlfriend and the mother of his daughter, Sara Molina, has constantly been drama-filled—but points lately got even messier...

Kaia Wellness groups with Chiesi Team to commercialise COPD application in Europe

Digital therapeutics agency Kaia Overall health is partnering with Italian pharma firm Chiesi Group to commercialise its chronic obstructive pulmonary condition (COPD) rehabilitation application...

Immediately after battling for 17 holes in the Round of 16 at the U.S. Amateur, golfer Segundo Oliva Pinto observed his second shot land in a bunker on the 18th gap. That is the place his bid for the most prestigious beginner title in golfing would end.

Tied with Tyler Strafaci likely into the ultimate hole at Bandon Dunes, Oliva Pinto ended up automatically dropping the 18th hole when his caddie created the grave error of hopping into the bunker and touching the sand, seemingly to check its texture.

As it turns out, you can not do that.

U.S. Amateur golfer loses in brutal trend

Precisely, Oliva Pinto’s caddie violated this part of Rule 12.2 in the USGA rulebook:

b. Limits on Touching Sand in Bunker

Just before earning a stroke at your ball in a bunker, you will have to not:

Intentionally touch sand in the bunker with your hand, a club or rake or any other item to examination the condition of the sand and learn information for your subsequent stroke

Not substantially wiggle room there. Oliva Pinto’s caddie was obviously touching the sand, although he would later deny what was clearly caught on digicam. That was all it took to place Strafaci 1-up and hand him the gain.

The golfer who lost by his caddie’s own hand was shocked following it happened.

“I ask my caddie what transpired, and I’m wholly stunned,” Pinto explained, according to Golf Channel’s Ryan Lavner I’m just striving to make an up-and-down and win the match.”

At stake at the U.S. Beginner is an invitation to the pursuing U.S. Open up, Masters and British Open, so the decline here is not insignificant for Oliva Pinto, who at present performs for UNC Greensboro.

Countless golfers have lost rounds in a bunker, but rarely is it their caddie that does the deed. (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)
Plenty of golfers have misplaced rounds in a bunker, but not often is it their caddie that does the deed. (Photograph by David Cannon/Getty Illustrations or photos)

Far more from Yahoo Sports:

Some Exciting Offer For You

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

− 1 = 1

Latest article

Uk bans set up of new Huawei 5G gear from September

The Uk governing administration is banning the set up of new Huawei 5G gear from September 2021 as component of its programs...

Sara Molina Slams Tekashi 6ix9ine On Social Media For Becoming A Horrible Father To Their Daughter—“All You Do Is Cap About Our Daughter”

Roommates, the connection among Tekashi 6ix9ine’s ex-girlfriend and the mother of his daughter, Sara Molina, has constantly been drama-filled—but points lately got even messier...

Kaia Wellness groups with Chiesi Team to commercialise COPD application in Europe

Digital therapeutics agency Kaia Overall health is partnering with Italian pharma firm Chiesi Group to commercialise its chronic obstructive pulmonary condition (COPD) rehabilitation application...

Michel Zecler beating: Four French policemen charged over assault

In addition to the "intentional violence" cost, all 4 officers are accused of forgery. That cost relates to the police report submitted following the...