Immediately after battling for 17 holes in the Round of 16 at the U.S. Amateur, golfer Segundo Oliva Pinto observed his second shot land in a bunker on the 18th gap. That is the place his bid for the most prestigious beginner title in golfing would end.
Tied with Tyler Strafaci likely into the ultimate hole at Bandon Dunes, Oliva Pinto ended up automatically dropping the 18th hole when his caddie created the grave error of hopping into the bunker and touching the sand, seemingly to check its texture.
As it turns out, you can not do that.
U.S. Amateur golfer loses in brutal trend
Precisely, Oliva Pinto’s caddie violated this part of Rule 12.2 in the USGA rulebook:
b. Limits on Touching Sand in Bunker
Just before earning a stroke at your ball in a bunker, you will have to not:
Intentionally touch sand in the bunker with your hand, a club or rake or any other item to examination the condition of the sand and learn information for your subsequent stroke
Not substantially wiggle room there. Oliva Pinto’s caddie was obviously touching the sand, although he would later deny what was clearly caught on digicam. That was all it took to place Strafaci 1-up and hand him the gain.
The golfer who lost by his caddie’s own hand was shocked following it happened.
“I ask my caddie what transpired, and I’m wholly stunned,” Pinto explained, according to Golf Channel’s Ryan Lavner I’m just striving to make an up-and-down and win the match.”
At stake at the U.S. Beginner is an invitation to the pursuing U.S. Open up, Masters and British Open, so the decline here is not insignificant for Oliva Pinto, who at present performs for UNC Greensboro.
Far more from Yahoo Sports: